tisdale

Wayman Tisdale, a 3-Time All-American and 12 years NBA star,  died Friday morning at St. John Medical Center in Tulsa.  He had been battling cancer for two years.

I admired Wayman Tisdale from a far, watching him at Oklahoma University and the NBA, he was something special. This cat was gifted, and to say he’ll be missed would be an understatement.  Possibly the best basketball player in OU history.

A 3-Time All-American  he kept a smile on his face.  Oklahoma has some famous former student-athletes, e.g. Billy Sims, Adrian Peterson, Paris Courtney (She’s the first 4-Time All-American in college history) but none stood out more to me then Wayman.

I never witnessed nor heard him be anything but a constant professional.

My father introduced jazz into my life at an early age.  Wes Montgomery, was and still my favorite guitarist.  Saxophone my favorite instrument, took a few classes in the eighty’s.  When I heard Tisdale on 95.5 in Chicago ten years ago, I could not believe it.

An accomplished athlete would have been enough, however not for Tisdale, a accomplished Bass jazziest releasing 12 jazp1_tisdlaez cd’s, men marvel to be so accomplished.  Several cd’s made the top 10 on the Billboard charts.

Tisdale will be missed by many people like myself.

A delightful brother, he remains a top the charts, forever.

