15846_54b2

I have begun a fast on reading, studying and practicing of the 26th verse of Tao Te Ching. (Living Calmly)

The revolutionary quest will increase my spirit in the area of “Being Content.” The spiritual exercise will give me discipline in accepting and being gracious for what lies ahead.

My impulses and emotions have been at the heart of my discontent throughout my life. Never introduced to the art of patient and stillness, I teach myself now. The student has become the teacher.

Why can life not be the way I want it?   Why ain’t the sun out?  Why did my girlfriend cheat?   Why, why, why, why?   Constant unanswered questions eventually morphed into a severely clinically depressed adult.

I was never at peace, whatever made me happy, soon wore off, or I wanted it all the time. I was always looking for the next emotional high.

Serotonin and norepinephrine imbalances, family history with depression and some early parental deaths gave the scientific explanation.

The medical findings I reluctantly accepted two years ago and I have being in therapy since, and it changed my life.

I now wish to be at spiritual peace also before my transition, a life of spiritual calm, stability and gratitude.

The Fast of the 26th verse presented itself and I warmly accepted its invitation. Each morning for 30-60mins, I will pray, mediate and repeat mantras concerning, Living Calmly.

The self-practice, will manifest my spirit to “Be at Peace,” with whatever lies ahead.

The Invisible Dragon

Tao Te Ching Verse 26

The heavy is the root of the light.
The unmoved is the source of all movement.

Thus the Master travels all day
without leaving home.
However splendid the views,
she stays serenely in herself.

Why should the lord of the country
flit about like a fool?
If you let yourself be blown to and fro,
you lose touch with your root.

If you let restlessness move you,
you lose touch with who you are.

Translation…Stephen Mitchell

