A exploration of spiritual stillness, 30 day fast of reading, studying and practicing the 26th verse of Tao Te Ching. (Living Calmly) The month long spiritual exercise in accepting and being gracious for what lies ahead.  Being a avid hack writer, I’ll post 30 days consecutively, thoughts on “Being Content.” Poems, exercises, take-home assignments, etc.

Day 9,

I thought to put in order ten quotations that I find to be helpful and wise.  There are many that I considered, but these stood out.  If you have some please leave in comment section.

77076_d835

10.  Until you make peace with who you are,

you’ll never be content with what you have.

Doris Mortman

*****

9.  It is not our circumstances that create

our discontent or contentment. It is us.

Vivian Greene

*****

8.  He who is not contented with

what he has, would not be contented

with what he would like to have.

Socrates

*****

7.  What makes us discontented with our condition

is the absurdly exaggerated idea

we have of the happiness of others.

French Proverb

*****

6.  If we have not quiet in our minds,

outward comfort will do no more

for us than a golden slipper on a gouty foot.

John Bunyan

*****

5.  Happy the man, and happy he alone,

he who can call today his own;

he who, secure within, can say,

tomorrow do thy worst,

for I have lived today.

John Dryden

*****

4.  My crown is in my heart, not on my head,

Nor decked with diamonds and Indian stones,

Nor to be seen:

My crown is called content:

A crown it is, that seldom kings enjoy.

William Shakespeare

*****

3.  For I have learned, in whatsoever state I am,

therewith to be content.

St. Paul In Philippians 4:11

*****

2.  He who is contented is rich.

Lao-Tzu

*****

1.  When you can think of yesterday

without regret and tomorrow without fear,

you are near contentment.

Unknown Source

If you have contentment quotations of your own or other authors, I would like to see them, please feel free to post them in comment section.

The Invisible Dragon

