A exploration of spiritual stillness, 30 day fast of reading, studying and practicing the 26th verse of Tao Te Ching. (Living Calmly) The month long spiritual exercise in accepting and being gracious for what lies ahead.  Being a avid hack writer, I’ll post 30 days consecutively, thoughts on “Being Content.” Poems, exercises, take-home assignments, etc.

what taoism

Day18,

What is Taoism?

I don’t know, I’m not attempting to be coil, I truly can not define it. If its a lack of intelligence so be it, but honesty couldn’t tell you. Although I attest you’ll find many definitions, I can’t articulate one anymore.  I thought I knew in the beginning, but the more I wake to it, the less I know about it.

I practice daily meditation, in its inception I yearned for enlightenment of Taoism, not anymore. I meditate now because its exciting to begin my day in this organized manner, that’s probably the main reason, you never know.

Nevertheless, its fun sitting quiet listening to nothing, going from one side of spirit to the next. I also mediate to find balance and peace if there’s a subject that encroach such attention.

I find less attempts to figure out my life and anyone’s life for that matter. Its something I don’t need defined, my mind in the past always needed  meaning, I was a busy body for information. Taoism without plan freed me from my obsessive thought of, “It must have meaning.”

*****

taoism2

Could I teach Taoism?

No or I doubt it, how can I teach something I know nothing about. Each day a new sense of discovery awaits me, this is cool having a carousal of experiences greet you.  There’s never any finalization, tomorrow’s a new set of situations to decide how I’ll feel about them. Maybe I feel one way today, but then discover those feelings obsolete.

Each situations are subjective to valve system of right/wrong, good/evil. I have a system but its on a sliding scale, nothing concrete decide when it comes.  I careful in rendering labels for actions.  So will obvious pronounce me mad, not having a set of principles in all.

Yes, I guess, luckily for me I don’t yearn to be much of anything but who I am. That’s comforting, living without expectations.

*****

What’s the Goals of Taoism for me?

Don’t have none. Its rendered me thoughtless, it filled me with no need to explain. I am concern with the well-being of others, but their path selection is not one of them. If someone need help, I’m first to offer assistance, this hasn’t change, but judgment and critique of their life, they should find someone else.

Its a waste of my time, to figure out what went wrong or right. We all have decisions to make, and consequences from those decisions define one’s life. We have the freedom of choice to choose everything, I choose to define my path without anyone’s interpretations.

*****

What’s next with Taoism?

Turn your own key.

taoism3

The Invisible Dragon

