If there was a (MDP) Most Depressed Person of the Year award, I would have won honors in 1988 and 2005. Both years brought me as close to self-destruction than ever in my life.

Clinical depression keeps the mind and body imprisoned.  Feelings of hopelessness engulf our thoughts and it disregards social or family responsibilities.  A chronic sense of fear looms over a depressed person, it is impossible to describe.

In 2006, I began a journey to uncover from my mental woes brought on by depression.  I soon began walking for exercise soon after relocating from Chicago to Dekalb..

Surprisingly, walking gave me a peace of mind and so, I to walk everyday. I would leave my home about 4am listening to music and return 3 hours later.  It gave me a spiritual equilibrium I could not imagine.

I no longer walk to lose pounds but for spiritual empowerment.  I stumbled upon a med-free activity that worked as a supplement to my depression.

Brain Chemicals and Walking

*****

(1) Serotonin has been linked to depression. Research has found the increase in physical fitness that results from walking or other exercise actually alters serotonin levels in the brain. This improves both moods and feelings of well-being.

(2) Walking is an activity that releases large quantities of endorphins, proteins that are released from the brain and spinal cord. These endorphins act on the nervous system to reduce pain and improve mood.

(3) Other research indicates that regular exercise boosts body temperature, which may ease depression by influencing the brain chemicals.

Benefits from walking briskly for 30 minutes a day, five days a week, are evident after only about four weeks of walking. Maintaining a regular walking schedule helps to prevent symptoms from recurring.

Living Proof

*****

I am going on my third year of walking, and I have lost over 60 pounds.  However, a normal mental state was more valuable. Episodes of depression has lessens severely, I notice onset approaching and use walking as an intervention measure.

Walk it out, give it a try, it’ll will work.

