2010022002boner Andrew Koenig, the actor who played “Boner” on the series “Growing Pains” took his own life a few days ago. The actor reportedly has suffered from clinical depression over the past several years. Sadly, Andrew succumbed to what he conceived as his only way out.

I am a twenty plus year suffering of clinical depression, the outcome of Andrew’s plight was not a surprise. Conversely, like Andrew I had thoughts of suicide at times, thankfully I never carried the thoughts out.  I created a blog a year ago titled “A Way Out.” The blog was created to inform others about mental illness, especially depression. However, I ended the blog a few weeks ago and will fuse my depression news here on the Dragon.

I write the Dragon with a great deal more passion than I had with my other two blogs. (A Way Out, & 28Leadership Drive) Subsequently, I did not inform people about depression as much as I believe I could. Nevertheless, many of my depression posts are here on the Dragon; a blog search would reveal the rich abundance of information.

In addition, if you know someone who may suffer from depression and they have talk of suicides, they need immediate medical help. Do not think they will not take their life, unfortunately, in many cases like Andrew’s those were grave mistakes.

If someone you know suffers from depression and talk of suicide:

Call the suicide hotline Call 1-800-SUICIDE , 1-800-784-2433; Call 1-800-273-TALK / 1-800-273-8255 or get them to the hospital, do not believe they will get better.

**

The Invisible Dragon

