50645710_d61994d8d2 In Western society, often one is measured by what one has acquired, accomplished and accumulated. Not too long after entering high school, we are on the fast track to capitalism. “Get mines, you get yours.” We feel this pressure as we take on more responsibilities to be more tomorrow than yesterday. The Dragon was addicted to this thinking for a very long time. Consequently, in the process, I sacrificed woefully my personal principles and values.

By the same token, to lead an ordinary life would go against my perception of manhood. I was so wrong. The simple-hearted life driven by a true sense of self is most rewarding. In other words, chase as you must the fakery of fritz and glitter, but in the end, the effortless spirit will possess the kingdom. Sadly, for so long I believed more was better (i.e., bigger house, cars, closet full of suits), it was never enough. In the end, you may be without a soul, because the spiritual trade-in is never equal to what you get in return.

God Give Me More

First of all, a simple and uncomplicated life takes faith and confidence. That is to say, to live mundane is to go against the Western’ ideology of self-worth. With this in mind, for some, even God should help us lead a life worth being talked about. In essence, prays are directed at being peaceful with material wealth and untold amounts of success, in other words, worldly gains overflowing. Sadly, even God’s purpose is to assist our egotistical appetite for more.968006798_7790bcec1e_m

In contrast, my over-lining principle is to live life on my own terms. Long ago, however before my continued transformation, I was incapable of living an unhurried life. Overall, I masqueraded egotistical desires behind fears of low self-esteem and loathing; I needed toys so self-perception would become obsolete. For instance, better for us to stare at my home, car, and money than my spirit.

When is it enough

In brief, being content with less would cause critical self-reflection. Without anything to pretend about, one eventually turns attentions within. Therefore, in the final analysis, I needed more external devices because of what I lacked internally.  I did not want me or anyone else to see the real me, the one in the darkness.

To begin with, the conceptual shift to live more with less has been an ongoing conquest. Namely, the stress accompanied with social comparison has lessened considerately. Amazingly, one could not have convinced me of this spiritual procedure, not in a million years. For the Dragon, nonetheless,  I desire a peaceful existence and tranquility; it is the only abundance I possess and desire.

The Invisible Dragon

milesdavis1

